Uncategorized

2010 has been one HELL of a year… & PetiteFoodie’s back again!

Hello friends! How’s it’s been?

It’s been such a long time since and I do sincerely apologize. Some of you have missed me and some of you are craving my food adventures. 😉 How do I know? When friends see me eating or equipped with a camera (or both), without hesitation, they ask  “So how’s your blog?” or “You’re putting that on your website/blog, right?” and “When/Where’s your next adventure? Let’s go!

I’d admit that I felt guilty putting my blog on hold. To be honest with you, I was a bit hesitant about writing this entry as well.

What happened PetiteFoodie!?!?

A few things happened during the year that made it one HELL of a ride.

Dental Work
I had a root canal that was to be completed earlier in the year but took ages because the endodontist canceled 5 appointments on me and did a half-assed job for my root canal. I’m a really patient person and the thing that ticked me off was when he canceled on me when I walked into his office. That was the last appointment that I had with him. Ever.

Braces was the next chapter but was a life changing experience ever for me. It was quite a humbling experience for me. Auntie M was really supportive and made me fish congee & turkey congee and mango Jello (with little mango chunks) on the first day I got braces. ❤ you! After a few weeks of eating soft foods, she told me to suck it up and eat normal foods. HAHA That’s when she gave me a pair of scissors to carry around so I can cut up my food into little pieces. Having no shame, I went to town (even at restaurants) cutting up steak, dim sum foods, chicken, vegetables, etc. I had to do that for a few months since my teeth were shifting from a slight underbite to a normal bite. Nowadays, I can eat normal food, except for biting into an apple and using my teeth to crack the crab.

Loss of a good friend
Losing someone that you care about is the hardest thing I’ve had to deal with. To my dear friend, I just wanted to tell you this:
Thank you for all the wonderful memories we shared. Thanks for all the laughter and the tears. I’ve never met anyone that shares soo much in common, and I’m glad it’s someone as unique as you. It’s too bad that certain circumstances had led to this loss. I miss you and will never forget you. I never got a chance to say goodbye…Goodbye till we meet again.
“There’s this place in me where your fingerprints still rest, your hugs still linger, and your whispers softly echo. It’s the place where a part of you will forever be a part of me.”

Car Accident
I was driving in Richmond when it happened. Like most motor vehicle accidents happen. Thank goodness the passenger and I was okay. It was my first accident and it totally shook me up to the core. With a lot things going on at the time and feeling like the world was crashing down, the first thing I did was burst out crying. After that, I felt much better. However, I’m stuck with dealing with ICBC. 😦

After all the bumps and bruises, sweat and tears throughout the year, I am thankful to be alive. I am thankful for all my supportive friends and fellow bloggers (you know who you are!) for being there for me and helping me get through all the tough times. Thank you!!!

On a side note, I admire people with humble beginnings and how they overcame hardships to become the successful people they are.

Farewell 2010! It has been one HELL of a year.

Happy 2011! Happy New Year to you all! Are you ready for some new dining adventures? 😀

Leave a Reply

