Japanese

Japa Dog at UBC!

Yeah you heard right! Japa Dog was at UBC! What a pleasant surprise  on a cold but sunny day at UBC!

Not knowing that Japa Dog was at UBC, I decided to get something light to eat for lunch so I ordered a chopped scallop sushi and a miso soup from the Honor Roll. After finishing my so-called “light lunch” I decided to stroll towards the bookstore to look for some gifts. As I walked down the stairs of the Student Union Building towards the grassy knoll I saw a crowd of students and an oh-so-familiar looking cart:

AHH! Japa Dog at UBC!

Let’s just say that I was ecstatic! Part of me kind of regretted eating the sushi lunch and was thinking of whether to get the Japa Dog or not. In the end, I thought to myself “oh what the hell” and decided to get a Japa Dog. So which one did I get? I’ve tried the Oroshi, Misomayo, and the Okonomi. Which one did I end up choosing? Terimayo! The one that Japa Dog is well known for.

So what is all the hype for these street meat? Simply put, Japa Dogs are hot dogs with a Japanese flair to it. These hot dogs are flavored with Japanese sauces and toppings and kinda feels like a mini izakaya in your mouth. Well it was for me, the first time I tried the Oroshi.

What is Terimayo? It’s a 100% beef hot dog topped with fried onions, smothered in teriyaki sauce, drizzled with Japanese mayonnaise and sprinkled with roasted seaweed.

Terimayo

So how was the Terimayo? To be honest, it was good, but not as good as my other favorite Japadog, Oroshi. The only downside was that the teriyaki sauce was a bit too salty for my liking as it overpowered the overall taste of the hotdog. I could only taste tiny hints of the creamy Japanese mayo and the sweetness of the grilled onions. I could definitely taste the roasted seaweed as it was slightly salty and crunchy and kind of flying off my hot dog.

I definitely recommend trying out Japa Dog as it is not your regular street dog. It has very interesting toppings that you won’t normally use such as benito flakes, wasabi mayo and daikon radish. Currently Japa Dog has a few stands in downtown (2 on Burrard and one on West Pender) and eventually will be opening a store near Robson and Seymour.

Japa Dog (Located at Burrard & Smithe, Burrard & W. Pender, Coal Harbour – Japa Dog shows up once a month at UBC)
Japadog (Burrard & Smithe) on Urbanspoon

Food:
Service:
Value: A bit pricier than what I get in downtown, but the extra dollar was towards a charity.
Ambience: What ambience? You eat wherever you find seating.

Leave a Reply

